top of page

Give your child the Right Start when learning to read with Right Start Readers.  Stage 2 is for children that have mastered the skills for reading CVC words (singular and plural). The series is intended for all readers ages 4-6 years old.  Stage 2 introduces welded sounds and consonant blends. Right Start Readers are special because they are teacher-created stories that follow a logical and scientifically based progression of phonemic skills.  Children will not simply memorize what is on the page, or use the pictures to guess the words.  The slow progression of skills required to read these stories will allow your reader to experience excitement and success reading the first books!

Books 9 & 10 build on the concepts mastered in Stage 1 and previous Stage 2 books.  Readers will review the welded sounds that end in -nk as well as learn the welded sounds “ind” and “ild”.  Welded sounds are important because the vowel sounds change based on the consonants that follow them. Your reader will get just the right amount of practice without being overwhelmed with too many new concepts at once.

Reading level: new readers - emerging phonics

Age range: 4-6 years old

Educational level: preschool and kindergarten

Educational setting: classroom, homeschool, or parent-led practice

Skills introduced:
Welded sounds: ind, ild

Stage 2 - Books 9 & 10

SKU: 0025
    bottom of page