top of page

Give your child the Right Start when learning to read with Right Start Readers.  Stage 1 is for first-time readers ages 4-6 years old.  They will be introduced to all letter and digraph sounds.  Easily decodable three and four letter words make-up short stories featuring adorable animal characters. Right Start Readers are special because they are teacher created stories that follow a logical and scientifically based progression of phonemic skills.  Children will not simply memorize what is on the page, or use the pictures to guess the words.  The slow progression of skills required to read these stories will allow your reader to experience excitement and success reading the first books!


Books 1-14 introduce all consonant, short vowel, and digraph sounds. Additional concepts include bonus letters (FLOSS rule), and  simple suffixes (-s, and -es). The is the perfect set for you first-time reader looking to take their phonemic awareness to a reading level.

Stage 1: First Time Reader - Full Set (Books 1-14)

SKU: 0001FS
  • Reading level: First-time reader

    Age range: 4-6 years old

    Educational level: preschool and kindergarten

    Educational setting: Classroom, homeschool, or parent-led practice

    Skills introduced:
    Vowel sounds - short o

    Consonant sounds - d, l, w, x, y, and z


    Series Information:

    Stage 1 - First-Time Readers

    Stage 2 - Emerging Readers

    Stage 3 - Developing Readers

    Stage 4 - Advanced Readers

    Stage 5 - Fluent Readers

bottom of page