top of page

Give your child the Right Start when learning to read with Right Start Readers.  Stage 1 is for first-time readers ages 4-6 years old.  They will be introduced to all letter and digraph sounds.  Easily decodable three and four letter words make-up short stories featuring adorable animal characters. Right Start Readers are special because they are teacher created stories that follow a logical and scientifically based progression of phonemic skills.  


Children will not simply memorize what is on the page, or use the pictures to guess the words.  The slow progression of skills required to read these stories will allow your reader to experience excitement and success reading the first books!


Books 1 & 2 are the perfect place to start any child when teaching them to read and blend sounds into words. These books introduce the short “a” sound and minimal consonant sounds.  The letters t, c, f, s, h, r, m, and a are all that are used to make up both stories.  By only introducing a few sounds at a time, your young reader can feel success without being overwhelmed. You’ll get to meet Cat and Rat in books 1 & 2; two characters your child is sure to love.

Stage 1 - Books 1 & 2

SKU: 0001
  • Reading level: First-time reader

    Age range: 4-6 years old

    Educational level: preschool and kindergarten

    Educational setting: Classroom, homeschool, or parent-led practice


    Skills introduced:
    Vowel sounds - short a

    Consonant sounds - c, f, h, m, r, s, t


    Series Information:

    Stage 1 - First-Time Readers

    Stage 2 - Emerging Readers

    Stage 3 - Developing Readers

    Stage 4 - Advanced Readers

    Stage 5 - Fluent Readers

bottom of page